The Girls Are

One of the best things about blogging – and I’ll be writing more about why I blog soon – is the way it opens doors.

In the last year, since I’ve upped the ante and been putting a lot more time into the blog, I’ve had some great opportunities like being invited to be a judge at local arts events, reviewing theatre in London and being asked if i’d like to write something for great music magazine, The Girls Are.

The Girls Are

The Girls Are

Getting to do cool stuff isn’t why I blog, but it’s awesome to be able to get involved and add my voice and support to awesome arts projects.

The Girls Are champions women in music, and it’s a mixture of features, interviews, reviews and columns. Features editor Kim (who I know from my days at the Post), got in touch after seeing this post about the Reading Fringe Festival and asked if I’d be interested in writing something about Reading’s music scene.

If you read this blog regularly you’ll know how passionate I am about Reading’s arts and cultural scene and anything which shares that with the wider world gets a thumbs up from me.

So, I wrote this column, which went live earlier this week, and which gives a snippet of the wonderful Reading Fringe Festival. The Fringe starts next Wednesday (so exciting!), and you can check out everything they’ve got going on over on their website. I’ve been asked to help judge the Fringe’s Film Festival too so watch this space for more on that next week too. Exciting artsy times ahead!

Leave a comment