Here’s One I Made Earlier.

Neon generally makes me think of lollipop ladies. Or this song by John Mayer. Or the 80s. However, last weekend, Neon made a comeback.

It was a friend’s birthday, which is the only excuse I can attempt to provide for indulging in my childhood love of dressing up, donning a neon tutu and venturing out into the streets of Cardiff. The night was fantastic and we could spot each other from a mile off – Cardiff’s very own walking talking glow sticks.

However finding neon clothing in the first place proved to be a bit more of a challenge. Leg warmers were an easy one – Primark. Tutu, a bit more challenging but Blue Banana did the job. (Alas if only I’d had time to make my own as described in my previous blog post.)

 Then there was the headband. Now, neon headbands aren’t exactly at the height of fashion right now, but you’d think Claire’s or Primark would offer some delightfully tacky hair decoration. But no. All we wanted was something like this, or this, but alas it looked as if we would have to go bald.

At least we would have, if I hadn’t got all Blue Peter on it. Thanks to a little bit of creative thinking, and a 50p Primark skinny belt – the belt headband was born!

 

Taking a skinny neon yellow belt, a bit like this, I chopped off the buckle, which was easy enough to do with a hefty pair of scissors. It might’ve been a bit trickier if the belt was any thicker, or of any decent quality, but then if it was a good belt you probably wouldn’t want to be hacking it apart in the first place. Then I held the belt around my head to gain the head size and chopped off the excess belt where the buckle holes are. Next, it got really Blue Peter. Taking cellotape (Yes, Cellotape, urgh.  I know it’s shoddy but seeing as it was one night in fancy dress, and we were already wearing tutu’s I figured it was ok) I fixed the hair band/belt together with a bit of tape and voila! Making sure you keep enough hair over the band to hide the tape, it stayed put for the whole night and actually looked kind of funky in the pictures.

So Blue Peter team, if you’re reading this and looking for a new recruit, I’m your girl.

3 responses to “Here’s One I Made Earlier.

  1. this is brilliant!! 🙂 i’m so glad you did a blog about it as it was a great idea of yours!!
    hehe, and a fab night!! xxx

Leave a comment